Nova Scotia College of

Respiratory Therapists


Respiratory Therapists are graduates of a three-year diploma, or four-year joint diploma/degree programs. These programs are offered at colleges and universities, in conjunction with teaching hospitals, and other health care organizations. Currently, Dalhousie University offers a four-year diploma program in Respiratory Therapy from the School of Health Sciences.

Nova Scotia requires all Respiratory Therapists to be members of the College. Registered Respiratory Therapists (RRTs) must participate in on-going quality assurance activities. This ensures high professional standards and is required for Respiratory Therapists to maintain their licenses to practice.